Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss…and a Giveaway

I grew up reading Dr. Seuss books, as I am sure most of you did.  My dr-seussdaughter’s class is having a Dr. Seuss celebration and it insipried a Dr. Seuss themed March.  He was born on March 2nd, 1904.  Here is a little info about Dr. Seuss that I found on www.seussville.com.

After devoting 53 years to creating entertaining and instructive books, the good Dr. Seuss taught all he could teach.  Theodor Seuss Geisel died on September 24th, 1991, at the age of 87.  As a permanent reminder to the reading public, the final line in Ted’s final book (Oh, The Places You’ll Go!) issues the following charge; “You’re off to great places! Today is your day!  Your mountain is waiting. So…get on your way!”

That is my favorite Dr. Seuss book and always has been.  I also found out that over 200 million copies of his books, in 15 different languages were published at the tme of his death in 1991.  Dr. Seuss never won a Caldecott award, but the honor was given in 1947 for McElligot’s Pool, in 1949 for Bartholomew and the Oobleck, and in 1950 for If I Ran the Zoo.

Other Things I Didn’t Know…But Do Now

  • Geisel used the pen name Theo. LeSeig, for books written by himself, but illustrated by others.  LeSeig is Geisel spelled backwards.
  • Geisel wrote many political cartoons, opposing facisim.
  • In 1967, his wife, Helen Palmer Geisel, committed suicide after a long illness.  He remarried a year later, to Audrey Stone Diamond.
  • Dr. Seuss wrote children’s books, but never had any himself
  • Geisel also used the pen name, Rosetta Stone
  • The ALA established the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award in 2006 for beginning readers, published in English in the preceeding year.

I am trying my first giveaway.  It isnt much….but who can complain about free stuff?!?!

are-you-my-motherSo here are the details; I have one copy of Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman, which is not technically written by Dr. Seuss, but is part of the Dr. Seuss Beginning Reading Collection. 

All you have to do is post here, tell me your favorite Dr. Seuss book, written by him or part of his collection and leave me your e-mail in the following format:  

name (at) emailprovider (dot) com

I will randomly select a winner and post at the end of March.  Hopefully I will get more than one person involved in the conversation!  Even if you don’t want to enter to win…join in the conversation.  I would love to hear your thoughts!  (Sorry US addresses only!)

So….let’s talk Dr. Seuss!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 2, 2009.

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss…and a Giveaway”

  1. […] those of you who haven’t checked out my post dedicated to Dr. Seuss and my March giveaway, I found out that Dr. Seuss used the pen name Theo. LeSieg for books he wrote, but were illustrated […]

  2. […] at a Blog on The ShackWacky Wednesday « Jennifer Morrill’s Attempt at a Blog on Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss…and a Giveawayjennifermorrill on February In ReviewJoy on February In ReviewFebruary In Review « […]

  3. Hmm . . . my favorite Dr. Suess book. My kids and I read The Foot Book A LOT. I totally missed Dr. Suess’s birthday or else I would have done something for it too. Well, I hope you get more entries than this. Or maybe, I don’t because I’d be a clear winner. 😉

  4. I like The Foot Book a lot too. Well…if I have to have a clear winner, I’m glad it’s you! 🙂 I kinda thought this might happen…oh well. My oldest liked this book so much that I recorded myself reading it, along with some of her other favorties when she was about 3 for her to “read” in her room before she went to sleep at night.

  5. […] There are three separate stories in this collection, Yertle The Turtle, Gertrude McFuzz, and The Big Brag.  Remember, if you haven’t already, check out my March Dr. Seuss Book Giveaway! […]

  6. […] monthly tribute to Dr. Seuss along with my giveaway.  If you haven’t checked out the details here, then you are making Natasha my clear winner!  Well Natasha, I’m glad that if I only have one […]

Leave a Reply

 
