February In Review

This has been my first real month in the blogging world and I am learning quickly how much time it takes to keep up on it.  I love having a spot to put all of my reviews and hear what others think…it’s a very few people right now, but that will grow I hope.

So, here is what I have done in February:

Reviews Posted Here

I thought I was going to get Savvy in before the end of February (yes, I know I have another day…but my daughter has been really sick for 3 weeks now with on and off temps of 103 off and on.  Thought she had mono.  I’m about 3/4 of the way through…but I don’t see getting it read and posted before the end of tomorrow.) so look for my review soon.

Upgrades

I started adding links to reviews from my daycare website to my Caldecotts Page.  I didn’t want to burden down my blog with reposting these reviews.

I’ve added the following Caldecott links:

A Child’s Calendar, Abraham Lincoln, Baboushka and The Three Kings, Bill Peet: An Autobiography, Casey at the Bat, Color Zoo, Coming on Home Soon, The Desert is Theirs, Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus, Ella Sarah Gets Dressed, Fables, First the Egg, Flotsam, The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses, The Glorious Flight, Grandfather’s Journey, The Hello, Goodbye Window, Herschel and the Hannukah Goblins, Hey Al, Hondo and Fabian, Joseph Had a Little Overcoat, Jumanji, Kitten’s First Full Moon, Knuffle Bunny, Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity, Lon Po Po: A Little Red Riding Hood Story From China, Madeline, The Man Who Walked Between the Towers, Mirette on High Wire, “More, More, More” Said the Baby, My Friend Rabbit, Officer Buckle and Gloria, Once a Mouse, Owl Moon, Ox-Cart Man, A Pocketful of Cricket, The Polar Express, Rapunzel, Rosa, St. George and the Dragon, Shadow, Smoky Night, Snowflake Bentley, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, So You Want To Be President, Song and Dance Man, The Talking Eggs, The Three Pigs, Tuesday, Zen Shorts, and Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin

Wow.  That is a lot of links!

I also began to add to my Newberry Page.  In addition to the reviews, I’ve added my More Info feature.  When you click this blue link, a new pag will pop up with information about the book.  Excerpts, number of pages, picture of the cover, and other information.

I added More Info for the following books:

26 Fairmont Avenue, ABC Bunny, Abel’s Island, Island of the Blue Dolphins, My Side of the Mountain, The Slave Dancer, Young Walter Scott, Number the Stars, King of the Wind, Bridge to Terabithia, The Great Gilly Hopkins, Bud, Not Buddy, Hatchet, and Zatleh the Goat and other Stories.

Another feature I added was keeping track of the picture books I read withmy 5 year-old.  We have to do it for her class anyways, so might as well keep track here as well.  I have reviews for some of them.  Some are Caldecott Honors or Winners and some are picture books from the library.  Check out my February Picture Books Read Page.  I’m not going to list them individually because this post is already getting ridiculously long.

I also want to thank my small, but important visitors so far:

I sincerely hope I didn’t forget anyone.  I’m not quite sure how to get to a list of my posters, so I went back through at tried to look at them all.  If I forgot you…I am SOOOOOO sorry.

I’ve put a lot of work into this blog so far and I would appreciate any feedback, negative or positive.

Look for reviews on Savvy by Ingrid Law, The Underneath by Kathi Appelt, The Shack by William P. Young, The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski, among others coming up in March.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on February 27, 2009.

3 Responses to “February In Review”

  1. Hi Jenn! I’ve been reading your reviews through Google Reader, so I didn’t realize you were a newbie! Welcome! It appears as if you have had a very successful month and I hope you enjoy many more months (years) of blogging. The blogosphere is certainly a fun place to be, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. Why thank you for coming by Joy. Yes, I am a newbie at this whole blogging thing. I’ve been reading blogs forever, but never was really inspired to make my own. Natasha at MawBooks, urged me to do it, and here I am. I don’t seem to be getting much traffic yet, but it will come I suppose.

  3. Congrats on your first month!! I started out small too, it does take some time but you’ll soon get lots of visitors!

Leave a Reply

 
