Inkheart

by Cornelia Funke

Audio version, listened/read January/February 2009

read by Lynn Redgrave

inkheartLynn Redgrave does an outstanding job in the audio version of this book.  I was amazed at her vocal talent and the different voices used for each character.  I was captivated listening to her.  She has a very pleasing voice and as I already stated, the voices she puts on are unique for each character and very excellent to listen to.

This was my first attempt at an audio book on a book I wanted to read.  I have been listening to A Series of Unfortunate Events on audio with the kids in the van, but I’ve read them before.  I decided I should grab something I wanted to listen to when I was, on rare occasion without children in my van.  I have to laugh at the caption on the back :

Cornelia Funke is the author of the bestselling, critically acclaimed novel The Thief Lord.  She is the third most popular children’s book writed in Germany after J.K. Rowling and R.L. Stine.

Wouldn’t it seem nicer if they just said “Cornelia Funke is one of the best selling children’s authors in Germany.”  It just made me laugh…third best?  For those who have been living in a box, J.K. Rowling is the author of the Harry Potter series.  R.L. Stine is the author of the children’s series, Goosebumps.  I just think it was an interesting choice of wording.

Meggie is a seemingly normal 12 year-old living with her father Mo, a book-binder by profession.  Other than an unusual passion for books, both live happy normal lives, or so it seems.

One day a strange man named Dustfinger shows up, and Meggie’s life is about to be turned upside down.  The next day Mo starts acting strangely and they rush off in a hurry to Aunt Elinor’s house.

Meggie’s father is captured by strange men who call him Silvertongue.  Meggie can hear them talking about a man named Capricorn and a book.  The men leave and Meggie and Elinor discover that the book the men are seeking is called, Inkheart, and the characters they are encountering seem to have jumped off the pages.

Capricorn seems to stop at nothing to get what he wants, all copies of  Inkheart, and Mo to read the characters off the pages for him so he can regain his evil power in this world.

I really enjoyed listening to this book.  As I said before, Lynn Redgrave does a wnderful job with the voices.  Cornelia Funke has a wonderful imagination and he characters are full of life.  Since I was listening to this in the car, there were times when I would sit in my driveway, because i had to find out what happened next.  I guess this would be the audio equivalent to not being able to put a book down.

I have to check into the next book in the series and see who reads it.  I think I will check it out if Lynn Redgrave is reading again.  I also want to check out the movie now.  I saw the casting and it’s not how I imagined the characters, but I will keep an open mind.  I will have to wait for it to come out on Netflix.

~Jenn

Themes: kidnapping, death, arson, frightening situations

Characters: Mo, Meggie, Aunt Elinor, Capricorn, Baster, Dustfinger, Farid

Setting: According to Amazon, it is set in Italy

Topic: Mo has the ability to read characters off of the pages, unfortunately, when he reads one character out of the book into our world, a person of this world is read into the book.  Unfortunately Mo’s wife was read into the story when the evil Capricorn and the unfortunate Dustfinger were read out of it.  No matter how hard he tries, Mo cannot read characters back in or find his wife within the pages of Inkheart.

~ by jennifermorrill on February 23, 2009.

4 Responses to “Inkheart”

  1. […] Inkheart […]

  2. […] I was pleasantly surprised with this novel.  I thought Inkheart was excellent and very original.  The story flows wonderfully into this, the second book in the […]

  3. […] I listened to the first two as audio books.  I enjoyed the vocal performaces of Lynn Redgrave in Inkheart and Brendan Fraser in Inkspell.  Maybe that’s it, my brain wanted to hear the book not see […]

  4. I really like Inkheart and I am about to read Inkspell and then Inkdeath! I really hope they are better than the first……
    Signed,
    Pink Power Ranger

Leave a Reply

 
