THE BOOK FAIRY CAME TO MY HOUSE!!!

It’s like I’m 8 again!  The Scholastic Book order came and I’m excited about my new books!  I say “my” books but they are really for my daughter.  I’m actually not quite sure how we ended up with so many.  I know there were a bunch for $1 and $2.  So these are my new treasures:

Caldecottshenrysfreedombox

Henry’s Freedom Box by Ellen Levine, ill by Kadir Nelson

Newberrys

  • Hatchet by Gary Paulsennumberthestars
  • Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
  • The Great Gilly Hopkins by Katherine Paterson
  • Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
  • Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis
  • King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry

Other Cool Bookslibrarycard

  • Give Me a Sign, Helen Keller– A Scholastic Chapter Book Biography
  • Esio Trot by Roald Dahl
  • The Library Card by Jerry Spinelli
  • Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

Books My Daughter Insisted on Buying

These books are total fluff reading, but to me, reading is reading.  She likes a quick read before bed and she can go through one of these in about 30 min.  They are also good for a car trip or any other time I need her non-stop talking to stop for a bit.  She doesn’t need to ask me what any words mean.  This time we ended up with:

  • India the Moonstone Fairyrainbowmagic
  • Scarlett the Garnet Fairy
  • Emily the Emerald Fairy
  • Chloe the Topaz Fairy
  • Amy the Amethyst Fairy
  • Sophie the Sapphire Fairy
  • Lucy the Diamond Fairy

So I’m happy with my new hoard of books.  Unfortunately, they sent home more book orders.  No, no, bad books!

OH and I almost forgot!  My mommy came over with books for me too.  She brought me:

  • The Alchemyst by Michael Scott (Been wanting to read this for a while)
  • Grace: A Novel by Richard Paul Evans
  • Blackwater by Joan Bauer (never heard of it but it was $.25 at the thrift store)
  • Poppy by Avi (This one was really for my daughter not me!)
  • The White Giraffe by Lauren St. John (For anyone who does not know me well, I have a slight giraffe obsession.  I have a room in my house decorated in an entire giraffe theme…but it’s tasteful…I suppose.  All of my photos are framed professionally and my figurines are all well-crafted and displayed nicely on nice shelves.  Well I like it anyways…and I guess that is what counts.  As a compromise, I allowed my husband to have the 8X10 England Flag Hanging on the wall of the office.)

Thank you mommy for bringing me books.  I love knowing that I have a selection to choose from to fit my mood.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on February 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
