The Grey Lady and the Strawberry Snatcher

by Molly Bang

read February 2009

greyladyandthestrawberryThis is another of those odd Caldecotts.  It is wordless, illustrations only.  The book is about a lady who has just bought a bunch of strawberries.  Suddenly, she is followed by a strange blue thing, the “strawberry snatcher.”

Now my daughter said the same thing I was thinking, “Why didn’t he just buy his own strawberries.  The store is right there.”  Instead, he follows the Grey Lady around and tries to steal her strawberry basket.

The Grey Lady blends into things and she and the sneaky blue thing play cat and mouse until the blue thing finds some blackberries.  He gets so caught up eating the blackberries, that he completely forgets the Grey Lady and her strawberries.

The Grey Lady makes it home and shares her strawberries with her family.

This book won the Caldecott Honor in 1981, A 1980 Boston Globe-Horn Book for illustration, A Children’s Book Reveiwer’s Choice ’80, ALA Booklist, A 1980 AIGA Children’s Book Show Selection.

I didn’t like this book really.  The illustrations weren’t that great either in my opinion.  My daughter immediately said, “Can we read another book, I didn’t like that one.”

Here is a peek at the inside.  Make your own decision!

greyladyinside

Topic: A woman buys strawberries only to be stalked by someone who intends to steal them.

Setting: Not a clue, possibly somewhere in Asia as it is mentioned on the dustjacket.

Themes: Theft, creepy blue people, chasing with intent to scare or steal

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on February 11, 2009.

4 Responses to “The Grey Lady and the Strawberry Snatcher”

  1. I’ve never even heard of this one but it looks really strange. I don’t like the one spread that you’ve shown. Perhaps I’ll skip it too.

  2. Since I have decided to go through the Caldecotts, I have found some REALLY strange and, in my opinion inappropriate books for children.

    I just updated my Caldecotts page by adding links to the review’s I’ve already done from my daycare website. I didn’t want to necessarily re-do all of them here.

  3. […] The Grey Lady and the Strawberry Snatcher […]

  4. I remember reading that book in maybe kindergarden or 1st grade, thexwhole stalkery theme was really scary ( not that that is necessarily bad …)

Leave a Reply

 
