The Song of Robin Hood

designed and illustrated by Virginia Lee Burton

not read November 2008

It is rare that I ever abandon a book.  In fact I can only think of about 3 times I have done it, this book included.
This book won the Caldecott honor in 1948, and I’m not sure why.  The illustrations are not fantastic and for goddness sakes…the Caldecott books are supposed to be for children!!  This is a book composed of songs about Robin Hood.
We got about 4 pages in and my daughter said, “mom, do we have to read this one?”  I was actually relieved.  I don’t know if i could have gotten through it.
It is 123 pages long and is fulled with actual songs about Robin Hood.  Furthermore, most of the book is written using Old English vocabulary and grammar, i.e. whence, thrice, naught, bane, etc.  I have read books that are based on music to my daughter, but we aren’t talking a book version of ‘The Wheels on the Bus.’ 
 
For some reason this book recieved the Caldecott Honor in 1948.  I realize we are talking about a book that is 52 years old, but eh….it still was terrible.
~Jenn
~ by jennifermorrill on February 10, 2009.

One Response to “The Song of Robin Hood”

  1. […] The Song of Robin Hood […]

Leave a Reply

 
