Assigned Reading

Amy, at My Friend Amy, posted today on her blog about assigned reading in school.  I was intrigued by the subject and thought I’d try my first attempt at a random post.

I loved assigned reading.  It always made me step out of my comfort box.  these are a few of the books I remember reading in school:

  • Sign of the Beaver
  • My Side of the Mountain
  • Island of the Blue Dolphins
  • Lord of the Flies
  • The Giver
  • The Grapes of Wrath
  • Of Mice and Men
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • The Great Gatsby
  • various works of Shakespeare
  • Catcher in the Rye
  • Across Five Aprils
  • The Odyssey
  • The Illiad
  • Great Expectations
  • Huckleberry Finn
  • A Tale of Two Cities
  • Oliver Twist

I know there were many more, but these are a few I remember.  I can’t see criticizing any of these books.  These are the kind of books that make you feel smarter!  It doesn’t mean I liked all of them. 

Anyone have any favorites?  Any they hated?  How do you feel about assigned reading?

I think of the above mentioned books, my favorites were Great Expectations and The Catcher in the Rye.  My least favorites were Grapes of Wrath and The Great Gatsby.  Not that I hated either of these books, they just weren’t my favorites.

So what do you think?  Also, I need a good name for my blog.  Jennifer Morrill’s Attempt at a Blog was a temporary title and I can’t think of a good one.  Any ideas?

~ by jennifermorrill on February 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “Assigned Reading”

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I really appreciate your comments. We Jennifers have to stick together, right?

    I never had to read The Grapes of Wrath in school and I wish that I had. I went from regular English as a sophomore to honors English as a Junior. They read that novel in honors the year before and in regular the year after. Oh well… I need to pick it up and read it, but it’s not something I would think about.

    Great post!

  2. I went to Honors English as a Sophmore as well. I think I need to give The Grapes of Wrath another chance. I have reread The Great Gatsby as an adult and I still did not enjoy it. It wasn’t horrible, but not my cup of tea.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. As you can see I need all the support I can get…I’m brand new! Yay for Jennifers!

  3. I always liked the books that were assigned reading, I just couldn’t stand to nitpick them apart. And we always read them WAY to slow. We’d take a month to read a book that I wish we could have covered in 2-3 days.

Leave a Reply

 
