The Tales of Beedle the Bard

tales-of-beedle-the-bardby J.K. Rowling

read January 2009

I was very intrigued by the idea of this book.  I remember the reference to The Tales of Beedle the Bard in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  It was revealed to us to be a storybook of children’s ‘fairy tales’ that wizarding families read to their children much as ‘muggle’ families would read Hans Christian Anderson or the Brothers Grimm to their children.

I have to admit I rather enjoyed the creativity involved in the tales.  It was kind of fun to read.  Very short, only 107 pages, but these are large-type double-spaced pages.  There are 5 different stories, The Wizard and the Hopping Pot, The Fountain of Fortune, The Warlock’s Hairy Heart, Babbitty Rabbitty and her Cackling Stump, and The Tale of the Three Brothers.  The rest of the book is supposed to be commentary by Albus Dumbledore, but it really just fluff.  Sometimes amusing fluff, but fluff nonetheless.

Would I like this book if I had never read Harry Potter?  Probably not.  Was it meant to be a serious work of literature?  Again, probably not.  However, if you read the information about the Children’s High Level Group and where the net proceeds of the book are going, it makes you feel good that you bought it.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on January 30, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Tales of Beedle the Bard”

  1. I got this one the day it came out and still haven’t read it! Thanks for the review.

  2. I’m going to read this book. I am! Just need to pick up a copy first. I look at it every time I go the store. I can’t wait to finally sit down with it.

Leave a Reply

 
