The Kite Runner

by Khaled Hosseini

Read January 2009

the-kite-runner

Wow.  At first, this book made me feel really stupid.  I knew very little about the different religious sects within the middle east.  Honestly, I knew very little about the war between the Russians and Afghans.

I had to do a little research on the internet to understand some things.  I have to say, I feel smarter for reading this book.  It is a great work of historical (recent historical?) fiction.

The story and relationship between Amir and Hassan is heart-wrenching, as is the relationship between Amir and his father. 

I usually see plot twists and where a book is heading from miles away, but I did not see this one coming.

It is a sad and gut-wrenching story.  It’s hard to read parts of the story, but it is worth it.

I plan on reading Hosseini’s novel, A Thousand Splendid Suns.  I hear it is just as good, if not better than The Kite Runner. 

I can finally watch the movie now.  I’ve had it checked out from the library for a while now.  Hopefully it does not disappoint!

~Jenn

Theme: Amir and Hassan are childhood friends.  One day something happens to Hassan that changes everything.  As an adult, Amir tries to right the wrongs of his past.

Setting: 1970’s Iraq, 1970’s United States, present day United States and Iraq

Characters: Amir, Hussan,

Themes: sexual violence, child abuse, friendship, infidelity, cultural differences, war, war violence, death, illness

~ by jennifermorrill on January 28, 2009.

5 Responses to “The Kite Runner”

  1. I liked A Thousand Splendid Suns even more than this one! I watched half of this movie before I came up to the return deadline. I have every intention of finishing it. It’s just a matter of when.

  2. A Thousand Splendid Suns is also spectacular, although I prefer The Kite Runner, probably just because I read it first, though. I have heard a lot of women say they can relate better to ATSS, because the main characters are women, so they can put themselves in their places. Personally I was able to dive into Amir’s character as well, I think because Hosseini is just such a talented writer.

  3. It’s nice when reading a good book makes you feel smarter! I liked this one as well, though I think A Thousand Splendid Suns was better!

  4. I really did feel smarter! I’m looking forward to A Thousand Splendid Suns

  5. I really thought it was an amazing book. I agree with you. I could really get into Amir’s character. I totally could see his perspective, even as a woman. I haven’t read A Thousand Splendid Suns, so I can’t compare.

Leave a Reply

 
