Clifford the Big Red Dog

By Norman Bridwell

Read January 2009

cliffordI have always read different Clifford books.  I remember them as a child.  I’ve read them in the classroom. I’ve read them to my children.  In all that time I do not think I ever came across this, the original Clifford The Big Red Dog.

It was great to see the way Clifford looked ‘originally’ back in 1963 when Norman Bridwell first introduced him to us through his books. 

I have to give the credit to my daughter, Lauren, for picking this one out at the library.  It was her pick last week.  Good pick Lauren!

I liked the history of Norman Bridwell and how Clifford came to be on the dust jacket it says;

Unsuccesfull at horseback riding, the young Norman Bridwell had fantasies of owning a dog as big as a horse.  Many years later, an editor suggested that he, by then an illustrator, write his own story.  He recalled his childhood fantasies, and thus, Clifford was born.

 

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on January 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “Clifford the Big Red Dog”

  1. I remember collecting this book when I was younger. It taught me lot of lessons learned and until now my son read those books I have collected and share lessons learned to him. 😉

  2. I was just going through my collection of books and found that I own quite a few Clifford books. You are right, they all have very good lessons to learn from, even the early readers!

Leave a Reply

 
