Madapple

by Christina Meldrum

Read September 2008

MadappleI really enjoyed this book!  I would highly recommend this book, which is something I am afraid to do usually.  I don’t want to suggest something and then have people hate it.  I thought it was a refreshing change from what I have been reading. 

It starts out with a young Danish girl of 15 named Maren finding out the is pregnant. She swears to her sister that she has never had a lover and it will be a virgin birth.

We are then skipped forward to the year 2003 where we learn more about Maren’s daughter, Aslaug. Aslaug’s upbringing is more than unusual and she is very unaware of the world around her despite her broad knowledge of ancient languages and books.  She is very bright, but clueless due to being brought up in complete isolation.

We then skip forward to the year 2007 in the next chaper and find out that Aslaug is on trial for murder.

The book continues this way, one chapter explaining something about the past, on about the trial until finally the two merge together.

I was really drawn in by the characters and Aslaug’s innocence to the modern world. I loved the way we slowly find out about her, and her not-so-normal family.  I think Aslaug’s own confusion about her past and desire to know more pulls you in.  You want to know more too.

I usually hate to recommend books, since we all have different tastes, but I loved this book.  I’m going go against my norm and highly suggest this one  to everyone.

~ by jennifermorrill on January 25, 2009.

3 Responses to “Madapple”

  1. Madapple just one something during the ALA handing out of awards. I didn’t catch what it was though! I hope she’s writing another book.

  2. Natasha- I just spoke with her via e-mail. She has another novel coming out in 2010. Exciting. I will have to see what she won.

  3. I looked it up. Madapple was nominated for the William C. Morris Award.

    “The William C. Morris Award honors a book written for young adults by a first-time, previously unpublished author.”

    Nominee’s were:

    A Curse as Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce
    Graceling by Kristin Cashore
    Absolute Brightness by James Lecesne
    Madapple by Christina Meldrum
    Me, the Missing, and the Dead by Jenny Valentine

    The winner of the 2009 award was A Curse as Dark as Gold

Leave a Reply

 
