If I Ran the Zoo

By Dr. Seuss

Read January 2008

if-i-ran-the-zooI have to remember that this book was written back before political corectness went haywire.  I had a little giggle to myself about the “helpers who wear their eyes at a slant,” and “…from the blistering sands of the Desert of Zind. This beast is the beast that the brave chieftans ride…A Mulligatawny is fine for my zoo, and so is a chieftan. I’ll bring back one too.”  and “I’ll go to the African island of Yerka” which isn’t bad, but the illustration, of two black men looking more like monkey than men is.

There are a few more P.R. things your wouldn’t see nowdays, but you have to date it to the time when it was written.  It is still a great, creative story.  The first words out of my daughter’s mouth were, “Hey mommy, if ~I~ ran the zoo, I would…”

Good ‘Ol Dr. Seuss.  Even though the rhyming got to be tricky reading aloud for my tried at 8pm brain, everyone enjoyed it.

This book actually recieved a Caldecott Honor in 1951.  The brain of Dr. Seuss…to come up with so many original and off-the-wall animals and characters in his books.

~Jenn

 

~ by jennifermorrill on January 23, 2009.

2 Responses to “If I Ran the Zoo”

  1. This book is sitting about ten feet away from me on the shelf right now. I think its one of those books that I haven’t really sat to down to read with the boys yet. I should see if they like it.

  2. It is really fun in the Dr. Seuss way. My girls love rhyming books and if you can manage to get through this one without getting your tongue twisted it is funny. It is one of the longer Dr. Seuss books.

    General consensus from mom and 2 girls, 3 thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

 
