The Umbrella

 the-umbrellaBy Jan Brett

Who cannot love a Jan Brett book?  I’ve always thought her illustrations were fantastic and this book is no exception.

The Umbrella is a wonderful story set in the rainforest.  Young Carlos goes off to search for animals in the rainforest.  He brings with him his umbrella, which he leaves at the bottom of a fig tree as he begins to climb it.

Unbeknownst (is that a word?) to him, all the animals end up congregating in his umbrella at the bottom of the tree.

It is a great book to read for any rainforest theme.  My daughter liked learning and remembering the names of the rainforest animals.

I accidentally ended up with this book.  I had it on reserve at the library, but I didn’t pay attention to the author.  I was looking for Umbrella by Taro Yashimo, a 1959 honor book.  If I had to get the wrong book, at least it was a good one!

Does anyone have a favorite Jan Brett book?  I think mine is The Three Snow Bears.

This is odd to me…HA…I feel like I am talking to myself!!  I’m not used to asking questions in my reviews.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on January 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
